Something interesting happened to me recently.  I applied for a job at Wantagh, and they asked for 3 references.  I supplied the two that I have, and stated that they were my only references.  I then got contacted by the district and they said that unless I provided 3 references, my resume would not even be considered.  This is absolutely ridiculous.  I was always told that employers ask for multiple references with the knowledge that one or two won't get back to them, so they at least will be able to get in touch with one.  I have never been told, flat out, that it's 3 or nothing.  This is particularly troubling with the way things are going now.  I know many of us have been subbing for years, so many of our references (especially those from student teaching) are woefully out of date.  Even references we get from subbing now may not be that great because once student teaching is over, no one really works that closely with you in the classroom anymore, so anything references from subbing say is hearsay.  Personally, I think for a district (or any employer) to absolutely demand a certain number of references is saying that they don't care about your quality as an employee, they just want someone who will either kiss up to higher-ups or be a social butterfly and socialize all day.  Is this really the type of employee they are looking for?  If so, then I am surely out of luck.  Don't get me wrong, I'm friendly, but I have a life outside school, and I don't spend my time sucking up to everyone on my off periods.  Since I have never been told I was excluded because of a lack of references before, I am hoping this is an isolated instance, but I'm wondering if anyone else has had this occur.  Please, comment here or start a thread in the forums and tell us what you think and if it's happened to you.    
May Wohlafka
7/12/2015 03:48:15 am

Hi,
I have been a substitute teacher for the past 5 years as well (elementary). Did you end up substitute-teaching again this past school year?
Substitute, Sachem and Farmingdale School Districts

Reply
David
7/12/2015 05:36:49 am

I actually got a job at a charter school. Many long term subs I know of have been going the charter/private school route. The chances of getting a public school job are almost non existent, and as I'm sure you know, subbing becomes frustrating at best.

Reply
May Wohlafka
7/12/2015 03:48:49 am

Reply



Leave a Reply.